A Long December

Did you know that the classic Christmas comedy “A Christmas Story” was based on a book? It was Jean Shepherd’s “In God We Trust, All Others Pay Cash”.

I just like the title.

So today is The Missus’ birthday. What are we doing about that? We’re getting sushi. And we’re leaving late because of an unexpected work meeting. Ah, expectations. Maybe if they give me treats, I’ll bark and roll over. Oh well. At least we get sushi.

I read a link yesterday saying that social workers and therapists each hold slots in the top ten jobs with the most depression. I’m screwed. And yet, attitude is everything. Not saying mine’s great, not by a long shot. It’s still everything. Everyone knows the first part of the serenity prayer, especially the part about having the wisdom to hide the bodies. But not everyone knows this last part:

“Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.”

I’m relatively certain we all know who “He” is. I know His is more than just mere attitude; it’s purpose, mission, and person. His will is to give us His purpose, mission, and person.

Back to birthdays — Happy birthday, Missus! We get a Goose-free evening, and while my daughter is the apple of my eye, it’s so essential to get some time with just the Missus.

And as Adam Duritz said, perhaps prophetically, “It’s been a long December, and there’s reason to believe maybe this one will be better than the last.” Particularly if I surrender to His will.

(Not Adam Duritz’ will. That’d be really weird, considering all the lineup changes of Counting Crows over the years.”

*EDIT* So the best thing about publicly blogging is reading back over what you’ve publicly blogged. I, for instance, read over that quote from that Counting Crows song, and realized I MISQUOTED IT. It’s only one word (please mentally replace the word “one” with the word “year” inside said quote), but Holy Mother of Proofreading, can I not proofread? WAY TO START THE YEAR RIGHT DAVE.

Leave a Reply

